Gregory Joseph

1 Article Published
Houston, TX
Gregory Activity
XFL Announces Host Cities for Inaugural 2020 Season

The XFL is back. On December 5th, 2018, nearly 20 years after the announcement of the first XFL stint, Commissioner Oliver Luck announced the EIGHT host cities that will be part of the inaugural season in February of 2020. Below is the list of the host cities and the stadiums that will host the inaugural teams.

XFL_Announced_Host_Cities table.png

The teams are set to compete in a ten-game season with a two-week postseason. Players of the newly revived XFL will be offered a salary of $7500 per game, and marquee players will be eligible for up to $200,000 annually. XFL contracts are limited to one-year deals with no restrictions on players being able to join other leagues after the season ends. Its counterpart, the Alliance of American Football, requires players to play on a 3-year deal. Doug Whaley, recently the general manager of the Buffalo Bills, will be serving as the Vice President of football operations.

Vince McMahon, the owner of the XFL, has denied any rumors that the timing of the XFL revival coincides with the recent events of the National Football League. In an interview with ESPN, he stated that “what has happened there is their business, and I'm not going to knock those guys, but I am going to learn from their mistakes, as anyone would if they were tasked with reimagining a new football league.” The XFL was previously disbanded in 2001 after one season due to low tv ratings.